University of Melbourne

The University of Melbourne is the second largest research organisation in Australia.

The University of Melbourne, established in 1853, has over 35,000 students, who are supported by nearly 7,200 staff members. It is the second largest research organisation in Australian after the CSIRO.

Richard Pratt's association with the university spanned more than 50 years. While studying commerce at Melbourne he also acted at the Union Theatre Repertory Company - the forerunner of the Melbourne Theatre Company. Richard’s support for the University through Pratt Philanthropies included grants for the Union Theatre redevelopment project, a donation of $1 million to establish the Pratt Family Chair in the Melbourne Business School, The Pratt Foundation Scholarship to the highest ranked Melbourne Research Scholarship applicant, donations to the Centre for Palliative Care Education, the Ian Potter Gallery, the Department of Fine Arts, and the Richard Pratt Oration in the Centre for Jewish History and Culture.

The university recognised Richard Pratt's important contribution to Australia, and to the University of Melbourne, with its highest award, the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws (2004)

<< Back

Strategic Relationships


Pratt Philanthropies aims to be more strategic and pro-active in our areas of interest and which aims to achieve our mission -- "To enrich the lives of our communities".